

Wilson County Office of Emergency Management

Cynthia Stafford, EMC 800 Tenth Street, Bldg. B Floresville, Texas 78114-2200 830-393-8357 emc@wilsoncountytx.gov

WILSON COUNTY GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR OUTDOOR BURNING

**When a burn ban is in effect, ALL outdoor burning is prohibited. AG burning is allowed in accordance with Local Government Code 352.081(f). AG permits will need to be obtained from the Emergency Management office by the land owner at least 48 hours prior to burning.

**When the burn ban is NOT in effect, burning may be conducted; however, there are still several Texas laws that regulate outdoor burning.

Outdoor burning in the unincorporated areas of Wilson County (not within the City limits of any municipality) maybe conducted under the following conditions:

- Wind speed is to be between 6 and 23 mph. Please check your local weather conditions.
- The initiation of burning shall commence no earlier than one hour after sunrise and NO burning is allowed after dark.
- All burns must end the same day.
- A responsible party must be present while the burn is active, flames are visible and/or the fire is progressing.
- Burning during temperature inversion or stagnation advisories is prohibited.
- Burning must be conducted downwind of or at least 300 feet from any structure located on adjacent property, unless prior consent is obtained.
- Violation of this order shall be punishable as a Class C misdemeanor with a maximum fine of \$500.00 for first offenses.